Silence

As I turned towards the Z.A Hashimi Hall, my eyes accidentally caught a glimpse of a greyish-white cat with beautiful golden eyes sitting beside the pavement in such deep silence that it looked as if she was asleep. Her nature was so calm, so unconcerned, so uncaring about everyone in her surroundings, it felt as if she was looking from another world, a world more peaceful, more loving, more caring.

Later when I passed by the same spot, I saw her again, her calmness, her serenity impressed me but perception is a very odd thing; the eyes look but they do not see, do not feel. Looking more closely, I found out that her nose was bleeding very badly, her ailment was increasing by the moment but she was so serene as if she felt no pain.

Moving closer to her slowly, I took out my phone to take her picture but still she showed no reaction, no fear, no movement. She looked into my eyes with such deep hopelessness, that those eyes are still embedded into my memory, those weeping eyes still plead to me to save them, those pleading gems still question me. She was so beautiful but her heart was broken and her soul, helpless.
[Next Page]

10 thoughts on “Silence

  1. This is a lovely, completely heartbreaking write. I hope to goodness it is fiction, because the idea of a creature suffering so is more than I can take. Of course, your parallels are obvious. So often we as humans do the same thing to our fellow humans. As a matter of fact, in some places, in this country especially, people are more likely to help an injured cat than a homeless human. Why can’t we help both, indeed all of them? We need to reach out to all of creation. God gave us stewardship over everyhing and we have made a royal mess of it. We have our priorities all screwed up, and it is becoming more and more clear that each individual in the world better start caring about what happens to our neighbors and to all of our environment, because before we know it, we will be the homeless refugees, sick, injured, and needing help.

    It seems like it should be a simple thing to ask another human if there us anything we can do for them to help. We may not be able to do great things, but we can do small things in a great way. I am reminded of something Jesus said in Mark 9:41: “Truly I tell you, anyone who gives you a cup of water in my name because you belong to the Messiah will certainly not lose their reward.” Do you know that the literal translation of “a cup of cool water” is “a cup of cool.” I love that. Just offer some refreshment, some cool balm in the heat of living. It takes so little, and when one person, one cat, one animal, one breath of air is refreshed, we all benefit.

    Thank you for writing such a fine and thought-provoking article. Bless you!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I wrote a long and involved note reflecting on your post, and it has been lost, I don’t know how. Since my energies are limited, I cannot come up at this time with a proper response, but suffice it for now to say you have done an outstanding job in telling on incredibly heartbreaking tale – one which has, as I am sure you know – parallels throughout creation. Thank you for writing this article and for bringing my attention to it over at AllPoetry.com I will try to give a more appropriate response when I am able. Until then, consider Mark 9:41

    Liked by 1 person

A comment to encourage us?

