Common Truth

Intro:

When darkness enshrouded my half of earth and many souls moved towards their berth to welcome the serenity of deep slumber, my soul found itself roaming in the boundless realm of dream, so free was I, so full of laughter, so happy, so ecstatic.

At first, the dream had in it nothing but purity and I saw two birds in tender embrace flying as one to the heavens above, I heard children laughing and people singing songs of ecstasy but soon, their existence faded to nothing but their songs and laughs followed me like a shadow but in their core I felt deep sorrow and sadness. As I floated further, a scene of such pain and misery greeted my eyes that even tears turned their heads away; I glimpsed people throwing themselves in a great fire, I heard laughter and saw smiles as if it was the sweetest thing of life. I felt myself taking another step and the scene changed; a beautiful garden greeted my eyes with the most wondrous fountain that I had ever seen, around which people were sitting with gloomy expressions, crying and weeping in such pain and misery that the whole fountain was brimmed with their tears. 

I found myself hastily moving onward all the while warring with memories and intense emotions of that miserable vision and looked to my left but saw nothing but floating mist. Darkness had set its reign everywhere but from somewhere I saw a wisp of light as if a lonely candle was trying to fight the dark. My presence of itself carefully advanced towards that small streak of light and saw a building that had no windows and only a single wooden door. All was silent, nothing moved except me. Wondering at this oddity, my existence, without my intention, entered its confines through the small door and saw beings of every age and form breathing but staring at nothing as if they were empty, hollow, devoid of any soul.  Surprised by this strange occurrence, my body started to walk around the vast prison which was composed of blandness and boredom but out of nowhere, I saw two mortals talking and rapidly soared towards them in hopes to hear their converse, at first their voices were muffled as if they were speaking from behind a door but from their intensity I deduced that they were arguing. I concentrated all my mind on those two distinct voices and finally, heard their converse.


1st Prisoner:

Consistency does not matter to me at all. All that matters to me is truthfulness. It is better to be inconsistent in truthfulness then to be consistent in falsehood.

2nd Prisoner:
Truth is always subjective. Your truth can be my falsehood and my falsehood can be your truth. So their remains no question of consistent and inconsistent.

1st Prisoner:

Subjective can be the same for many and one truth can be the heart of uncountable souls. So consistency remains.
2nd Prisoner:

But it cannot be the same for all. One heart can exist in uncountable souls never in the recess of each and every soul.

1st Prisoner:

How can you be so sure? Have you a mind as vast as this universe? Are you the bearer of every clandestine? Ha! It is your simple guess and nothing more.

2nd Prisoner:

How do you assume it is universal? Are you all the things with which you belittled me? Is your notion not a mere guess?

1st Prisoner:

No, for this universe is consistent. It is a series of repetitions that repeat again and again. Everything is past and future and present at the same time. Past becomes the future with a different form but with the same nature and future becomes present in the form of history.

2nd Prisoner:

Consistent can become inconsistent; it is a matter of perception.

1st Prisoner:

What if there exists such a thing as a common perspective?

2nd Prisoner:

And what if there does not?

1st Prisoner:

Let me educate you to the concept of my inkling. Take into your imagination a world without thought.

2nd Prisoner:

That is not possible.

1st Prisoner:

Why is it not possible?

2nd Prisoner:

I cannot, for once, doubt the existence of thought, no one can for I think because I am.

1st Prisoner:

Do you think?

2nd Prisoner:

Yes, I do.

1st Prisoner:

And I?

2nd Prisoner:

Yes.

1st Prisoner:

And do all the humans also think?

2nd Prisoner:

Yes, all of them.

1st Prisoner:

If they all think, they have one thing in common; to think. So it is a possibility that they might arrive at the same conclusion at the same moment and if there is a possibility for a common perspective, as their conclusion will decide their perception, then there must be something common to all; a common truth.


Their argument continued but their voices became inaudible to me again; noise then silence but their conversation had broken the peace and solace of my mind. I thought to myself, what is truth? What if there is no truth at all? With these confused thoughts straining my mind, my eyes opened to the morning sun and I felt perspiration enshrouding my whole bod…

 


What do you think? Is common truth a possibility?


The Author: Muhammad Ali Hafiz

Like Our Facebook Page and Follow us On Twitter, thank you 🙂


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

A comment to encourage us?

